Single Blog Title

This is a single blog caption

Haaland wins both EPL Player of the Season & Young Player of the Season award

Erling Haaland wins both

Being named both the Premier League Player of the Year and Young Player of the Year in his first season at Manchester City makes Erling Haaland the only player in history to accomplish this feat.

A 29-year record for the most goals in a Premier League season was broken by the Norwegian, who scored 36 league goals in just 35 matches.

In addition to winning City a third straight Premier League title, the FA Cup, and the Champions League in June, he has also provided eight assists.

Haaland shares the record for the most overall goal assists with Thierry Henry, a former Arsenal forward, who set it in the 2002–03 season with 44.\

Haaland wins Premier League Young Player of the Year award

Haaland wins Premier League Young Player of the Year award

Ruben Dias won it in 2020/21, and teammate Kevin De Bruyne won it in 2019/20 and 2021/22. This makes a City player the fourth player to win the trophy in a row.

In 2011–12, Vincent Kompany was also the winner.

De Bruyne was nominated for the accolade once more this year after maintaining his lead in the assists standings with 16 total so far.

Bukayo Saka and Martin Odegaard of Arsenal, Marcus Rashford of Manchester United, Harry Kane of Tottenham, and Kieran Trippier of Newcastle were also contenders.

The Football Writers’ Association Footballer of the Year title for 2023 has already been won by Haaland, who received more than 80% of the vote.

He has also received a PFA Player of the Season nomination.

“I am honoured to have become the first player to win both awards in the same season – thank you to everyone who voted for me,” he said.  

“It has been an incredible first season in the Premier League and lifting the trophy last weekend in front of our fans at the Etihad was a very special moment for me.

“These awards would not have been possible without my amazing team-mates, the manager and all of the staff at the club who help me perform on the pitch. Now we have two more finals to go and we want to finish the season strong.”

Phil Foden has won the Premier League Young Player of the Season each of the last two seasons since it was first given out in 2019–20.

Arsenal’s trio of Bukayo Saka, Gabriel Martinelli, and Martin Odegaard, Brighton’s Moises Caicedo and Alexis Mac Allister, and Newcastle United’s Sven Botman and Alexander Isak were the other nominees on this year’s shortlist.