Single Blog Title

This is a single blog caption

What are the 6 best Argentina Soccer Players ever?

6 best Argentina Soccer Players ever

Despite winning only two World Cup titles in 17 appearances, the Argentinian National Team has had some of the most talented soccer players of all time wear their legendary “Albiceleste” jersey. Let’s find out who are the top six players in the history of the Argentinian Soccer National Team!

Top 6 Best Argentina Soccer Players of All Time

  1. Diego Armando Maradona
  2. Lionel Messi
  3. Daniel Passarella
  4. Mario Alberto Kempes
  5. Gabriel Batistuta
  6. Juan Román Riquelme

1. Diego Armando Maradona

  • 1986 World Cup Winner
  • Two-time World Cup finalist
  • 1986 World Cup Golden Ball

Considered by many to be the greatest player of the 20th century, Diego Armando Maradona won the heart of every Argentinian during the 1986 World Cup. His ten-goal contributions campaign, including the assist for the winning goal in the final, put him among the biggest legends in the history of the game.

Maradona made his international debut in 1977 at the age of 16 and wore the Albiceleste colors for 17 years, playing in four World Cups and taking his team to two back-to-back finals. He also won the Golden Ball at the 1986 World Cup and received many other awards for the second goal he scored in the quarterfinals against England.

2. Lionel Messi

  • Argentina’s all-time leader in appearances and goals
  • Copa America 2021 winner
  • 2014 World Cup Golden Ball
  • 2023 Worldcup Winner

Alongside Diego Maradona, Lionel Messi’s name is always included in the list of the greatest soccer players of all time. Argentina’s current captain is the all-time leader in goals and appearances for the national team with over 90 goals in less than 175 caps.

After a World Cup final loss in 2014 and two straight losses in the Copa América final in 2015 and 2016, Messi led Argentina to a win in the 2021 Copa América in Brazil. His four goals and five assists earned him the honor of best player of the tournament. Lionel Messi also won the Golden Ball at the 2014 World Cup after his five-goal contributions led his team to their first final in 24 years.

3. Daniel Passarella

  • Only Argentine to win two World Cup titles
  • 1978 FIFA World Cup All-Star Team member
  • Highest scoring defender in Argentina’s history

“El Kaiser,” as they used to call Daniel Passarella in his playing days, is one of the few players to have won multiple World Cups and the only one to do so in Argentina’s history. Passarella was the captain of the 1978 World Cup side and was in the 1986 squad, helping his team with his great leadership despite being sidelined with an injury for the second tournament.

Daniel Passarella was a complete center-back with great touch and goal instinct, as shown by the fact that he went down as the highest-scoring defender in the history of the national team with 22 goals in 70 appearances.

4. Mario Alberto Kempes

  • 1978 World Cup Golden Ball and Golden Shoe
  • Scored the winning brace in the 1978 World Cup final
  • 1978 World Cup winner

With six goals in the whole tournament, including the winning brace in the final against the Netherlands, Mario Alberto Kempes is considered the hero of the 1978 World Cup. His heroics also rightfully earned him the Golden Ball and the Golden Boot for that tournament.

Mario Alberto Kempes is a fan favorite in Argentina, especially among the older generations, as he led the country to its first-ever World Cup win. This even led the mayor of Cordoba, Kempes’ hometown, to name the stadium of the city after him as a sign of gratitude for his stellar display at the World Cup. Kempes also took part in the 1974 and 1982 World Cups.

5. Gabriel Batistuta

  • Second-highest goalscorer in Argentina’s national team history
  • 1991 and 1993 Copa América winner
  • 1998 FIFA World Cup Silver Shoe

With 56 goals in 78 matches, Gabriel Batistuta is the second-highest goalscorer in the history of the Argentinian national team. The former ACF Fiorentina and AS Roma player represented the Albiceleste in three World Cups scoring ten goals, which is tied for eighth highest of all time in the history of the competition.

Batistuta was one of the key players in the golden Argentina generation that won the Copa América in 1993 and 1995, scoring the winning goals in both finals. “Batigol” also won the Golden Boot at both the 1991 and 1995 Copa América and the Silver Shoe at the 1998 FIFA World Cup.

6. Juan Román Riquelme

  • Gold at the 2008 Summer Olympics
  • 37 goal contributions with Argentina
  • Top assist provider at the 2006 World Cup

Although he only played 51 matches with the Albiceleste, Juan Román Riquelme went down as one of the classiest number ten in the history of Argentinian football. The Boca Juniors legend had 37 goal contributions for Argentina, including various free-kick stunners.

Juan Román Riquelme played at the 2006 World Cup wearing the prestigious number ten and dishing out three assists in the competition. He was also one of the stars of the team that made it to the Copa América final in 2007 and took part in the 2008 Summer Olympics, captaining Argentina to the gold medal and scoring in the semifinal win against Brazil.

Honorable Mentions

  • Sergio Aguero
  • Roberto Ayala
  • Hernan Créspo
  • Alfredo Di Stéfano
  • Ubaldo Fillol
  • Gonzalo Higuain
  • Javier Mascherano
  • Fernando Redondo
  • Omar Sivori
  • Javier Zanetti